Monday, June 20, 2011

Deathchamber - His Will Be Done - Demo (2010)

1. His Will Be Done
2. Through Flesh Your Souls Be Saved
3. Opposite
4. Fallen From The Grace Of God

Origin - Sweden
Style - Death Metal

" Sweden never stops producing Top Notch Death Metal.....From old-sounding to the newer technical styles....The quality from this one small country is astounding. So when this little ditty came across my desk...I had to give it some attention...And I'M glad I did....As these bastards mean business "

" What strikes me right away is the symphonic elements of this 4 tracker...Not overdone but just for atmospheric fullness. Its the riffing that kills and there is no shortage here.....Blasting coupled with tech elements for a nice hybrid....Say Bloodbath meets Morbid Angel....Sound Good? You bet it is...Pretty fucken good production for a demo and more than decent song writing..Catchy...Headbangable and sounding like veterans..Not first timers "

" Right out of the gates the title track is crushing with a Martriden(Montana) like feel. Both memorable and heavy at the same time.'Through Your Flesh' also with the powerful "Suffer Unto Me" chorus and brutal delivery. 'Opposite' storms out with some great riffing and a tasty solo and finally the fourth track had really got that Morbid Angel gait.....2nd half of this track is killer ! "

I would really like to see more young bands bring the symphonic element..For I feel it really adds to the crushing music and separates it from the hordes of Death Metal Bands nowadays.
This is a quality Demo by an UN-signed band(not for long) doing it the right way !

Fucking Sweden !......Fuck en Eh !
Over There......

Sunday, June 19, 2011

Sectu - Inundate (2011)

1. Age Of Splendour
2. Storms
3. Dominion
4. Dream Vessel
5. Ceremonial March
6. Unseeing Devine
7. Incantation Of The Lost Continent
8. Procession Through Flesh

Origin - Sweden
Style - Death Metal

" Holy cripes...This one kicked the living shit outta me !......Sectu from Stockholm,Sweden arrive with a name sounding like pure Black Metal...But oh no..This is Technical Death Metal here folks ! "

" Featuring ex-members of Dawn,Mork Gryning,Beyond Twilight this one really took me by surprise. I think I have been in a funk lately..Especially when it comes to Death Metal...Just not feeling all the old variety of Death bands coming out all the time. Maybe I needed a fresh take on the genre and these guys saved me for the time being "

" Right off the bat you notice a Immolation styled riffing and off kilter sweeping melody that just sounds killer !....Another thing is the production....This shit is amazing !..Just the way I like a new band to sound..Easily separating all the instruments and really showcasing everything here within. Of special note is Calle Backstrom on drums...This guy is a monster here !....Easily going from heavy to blasting without a hiccup. There is alot going on here..So it may take a few listens to absorb all of the intricacies going on...But trust me....It is entirely worth it...This one has been in heavy rotation since I received it "

" This album is technical without being wanky or self indulging and there is some great songwriting here...'Age of Splendour' and 'Dominion' being of particular note....Simply stunning !...Easily changing from Heaving and chugging riffs to thrashy goodness in a moments notice..And all the while keeping it interesting and not out of bounds "

People this is a good one !......Fans of Decapitation,Immolation,Dominion and the like Take note....

Looking for a step away from the typical Stockholm sound...Then this is for you !

Im Feelin It !
Happy Fathers Day by the way !
Check It....

Saturday, June 18, 2011

Asphyx / Hooded Menace - Split 7" Ep (2011)

1. Asphyx - We Doom You To Death

2. Hooded Menace - Abode Of The Grotesque

Origin - Netherlands & Finland
Style - Death/Doom Metal

" Here we have another badass 7" from the killer label Doomentia Records...Featuring two of my personal favorite bands with exclusive new tracks "

" First off is Asphyx...Let me tell you when I hear Martin's voice on this it is just awesome..No other voice like his in Metal today...Pure Agony ! As far as the track?....Pure crushing Death/Doom at its finest !.....Catchy...Memorable...And produced by Dan Swano.....Its only a single track(Fuck)But its killer "

" Secondly is Hooded Menace from Joensuu,Finland...And surely one of the best bands of this genre. Lasse Pyykko has a knack for writing doomy but melodic songs that are both heavy and memorable and this one is no different....Actually this song is fucken killer with a melodicness to it that just kills me everytime ! "

So there you go....An absolutely mandatory 7" available in Black or Picture vinyl from the already mentioned Doomentia Records....Go and buy it !

Vinyl is Final......
Get It?......

Saturday, June 4, 2011

Morbid Angel - Illud Divinum Insanus (2011)

01. Omni Potens
02. Too Extreme!
03. Existo Vulgoré
04. Blades for Baal
05. I Am Morbid
06. 10 More Dead
07. Destructos Vs. the Earth / Attack
08. Nevermore
09. Beauty Meets Beast
10. Radikult
11. Profundis - Mea Culpa

Origin - USA
Style - Death Metal

" Its been 8 years since the last record...And David Vincent is back in the fold...Cant be a bad record can it? "

" This has to be one of the most polarizing records I have heard in years and will be written in the history books in many ways. I'm not gonna go into the history of this legendary band..As everyone knows this...Right? "

" Lets get down to it.....Wait for it........This is not a horrible album !.....Its half a better than average album and half (Bullshit..We do what we want to do,techno,electronic,fake white zombie)record. Why would such a band like M.A. do a album like this?...Cause they can !....Is it smart?....No....Will it sell?...Yes...Trust me..It will..And fans will flock to see the band live "

" Hey people are making it sound like this really came out of left field !....It doesn't surprise me at all..As they have always been different on every record.
I am not going to do the track by track breakdown as its not worth it.
The first track is 'Existo Vulgoré ' and it kicked my ass from the first time I heard it...This is classic Morbid Angel !....Incredible double bass and a winding guitar that really got me going. 'Blades Of Baal' is a fast track and kills in every way..Including a dominating solo from Trey. Now while the title track has more cheese than a big order of nachos...It has a ripping solo that I really liked...And all you fuckers know you will be chanting "I Am Morbid" when you see them live ! "

" '10 More Dead had that creepy crawling style from the 'Domination' era...Very fucking cool !...'Nevermore' & 'Beauty meets Beast' round out the real songs from this LP. I will not say much more about the other tracks as I deleted them so I don't have to even hear or see them "

While this album would have been better with 3 or more Death Metal tracks on it...I do find the material catchy and Trey still rips !...And David Vincent still is a commanding force.....Just do a remix album under another moniker next time and don't waste our time and money..When we think we are getting a Death Metal album....At the very least...Put WARNING stickers on the cover !

Will you get it?......Hummm?
No Link needed