Sunday, November 28, 2010

Desultory - Counting Our Scars (2010)

1. In A Cage
2. Counting Our Scars
3. Ready To Bleed
4. This Broken Halo
5. The Moment Is Gone
6. Uneven Numbers
7. Dead Ends
8. Leeching Life
9. A Crippling Heritage

Origin - Sweden
Style - Death Metal

" Desultory were always underrated in my book.....Seemingly always compared to Entombed,Dismember....They never sounded like the two aforementioned legends and sorta had their own thing going. Thought of as a second tier band by many....They had a decent career up until a change in musical direction derailed the once mighty Swedish band "

" Skip forward from 1994s 'Bitterness'(The last of the old style records) and we have arrived at a new record a new attitude and a new record deal with Pulverised records. When bands reform and make a come back I always assume a bit of a letdown.....This is NOT the case here ! A new found energy and 9 new tracks are refueling Desultory back into the spotlight "

" Right off the bat you get god damn catchy riffing and tompa style vocals...All set up by a heavy yet clear production. This Lp reminds me of Evocation's 2008 masterpiece 'Dead Calm Chaos' a amalgam of really grinding yet catchy(I know I said it twice already)tracks with just that right amount of melodic touches to keep it sounding fresh. There is not a dud to be found across the 9 lessons in Swedish mastery..All having a hook and groove done in the Swedish way "

" This was sent by a loyal follower and we thank him very much for this !.......Now go out and order this disc and enjoy one of the better rides of the year in my opinion...Please buy CDs and support the underground....I know this gets old hearing this...But it is imperative that we keep buying Cds and digital downloads to keep the artists and record companies alive to put out such great artistry as this...Rant over...Now Get It! "

By the way: Finally have computer problems fixed (Well if you can imagine a pc being thrown out of a truck going 70 mph down a hill being fixed) I finally stepped up to a IMAC and am enjoying the fruits of a perfect setup....Maybe I will post more than once a month from now on?????

Excellent Album !.......Buy It!
Check It.......


  1. Hey man! thanks for review.....
    by the way , maybe your pc wanted to commit suicide hahaha ....

  2. I loved Bitterness and was hoping this new one would be good. It isn't just good, it's my favorite album of 2010! A MUST HAVE!

  3. I'm quite pleased with the album, granted it's no Bitterness, but they would have to perform a miracle to top that one. Two main gripes I have with the album; one is Klas Morberg's vocals, I can't tell if it's reverb or distortion but it is "effected" is some way, not enough to ruin the album though but it's there. The other is what made biterness so great was diversity, on this we don't have a winter or bleeding. That said, I'm shocked that one of my favorite bands returned to do something with such high quality. There are no stinkers on the album, just pure catchy thrashy melodic death metal...I love it

  4. Please buy the CD and LP! Do not download!

  5. This is very good, much better than Swallow the Snake, or whatever that nonsense was. Counting Our Scars along with Evocation's Apocalyptic are 2 death metal albums that will be in my top 10 for the year. #1 spot might have to go to Hail of Bullets - On Divine Winds. Another great one is Invasion's Orchestrated Kill Maneuver. Good shit! The Autopsy would be included but its only an ep...rules none the less though!

  6. I saw on Desultory's Facebook that it's coming out in January 2011. Is there a version coming out this year? I'm not sure whether to consider as a 2010 or a 2011 release.

  7. Very good album. I will buy this.